Google Adds Site-Blocking Feature
Google said in a blog post that the feature will enable users to block sites they find offensive or low quality or that they simply don't like.
When a user returns to a page of search results on Google after clicking through to a link they don't like, an option to block that domain will appear at the bottom of the search result along with the options of "cached" and "similar."
"Once you click the link to 'Block all example.com results' you'll get a confirmation message, as well as the option to undo your choice," Google engineers Amay Champaneria and Beverly Yang wrote. "You'll see the link whether or not you're signed in, but the domains you block are connected with your Google Account, so you'll need to sign in before you can confirm a block."
After a domain is blocked, it won't show up in future search results, as long as the user is logged into their Google account. Blocking of domains can't be confirmed if a user isn't logged into their Google account.
A list of a user's blocked sites will show up in a new page in a Google account's search settings where sites can be blocked and unblocked.
The site-blocking feature is only available in English search results and was added to Google's Chrome browser on Thursday (version 9 or newer) and will be added to Microsoft Internet Explorer 8 and newer and Firefox 3.5 and newer versions before the weekend. Google said other languages and browsers will be added soon.